Subtractive or Additive EQ?

How much do you love this stuff?

How often do you use cut frequencies in your mix (vs. boosting)?

Always!
21%
About 75% of the time
38%
Half the time. I like to be EQ'ickly correct.
17%
About 25% of the time
13%
Never, I only fortify and additiveitate
13%

Total votes: 24
Plat
Push Comes to Shove
Instruments: teeth and other bones
Recording Method: cubase, native instruments, waves, izotope, ears
Submitting as: The Cow Exchange, Eat It 'n' Mattress

Subtractive or Additive EQ?

Post by Plat »

I keep reading that I'm supposed to cut frequencies, but it's so tempting to just boost a yummy one.

Home stereo systems don't count.
Eric Y.
Ice Cream Man

Post by Eric Y. »

i only ever use EQ for rolling off at the top or bottom, or trying to notch out problem spots. i feel like i probably could use it a bit more for clearing up space for parts to fit within different ranges, but i'm still learning... i've never boosted freqs (in the car doesn't count either, right?)
stueym
Push Comes to Shove
Instruments: Guitar
Recording Method: Cubase/Stenberg CI2+/Roland VG-99/RolandGR-55
Submitting as: stueym

Post by stueym »

I suck cos "more is better" and "red onez go fassstaaaa!" so additive is the answer...always

Its a nasty habit and one I am trying to kick so I was reading about Har-Bal's Harmonic Balancing program (see here). ANyone else heard of this. Sound on Sound gave it a very nice review and although I have only used it on one track so far, it was pretty good at takin my normally pretty woody sounding mix and making it sound more....commercial is the only word I can use.

Any other Har-Bal izers out there?
"You know, I rather like this God fellow. Very theatrical, you know. Pestilence here, a plague there. Omnipotence ... gotta get me some of that."
Adam!
Ice Cream Man
Instruments: Drum 'n' Bass (but not THAT Drum 'n' Bass)
Recording Method: Reaper + Stock Plugins
Submitting as: Max Bombast
Pronouns: he/him

Post by Adam! »