I should probably do this later

New Players stand up and be counted.
AJOwens
Ice Cream Man
Instruments: bass, guitar, keyboards, drums, flute
Recording Method: Reaper, Reason Adapted, M-Audio 1010LT + 2496 (Windows XP)
Submitting as: James Owens, The Chebuctones
Pronouns: he/him

I should probably do this later

Post by AJOwens »

My first song isn't even up yet, and for all I know I did it wrong and it won't be up with the rest of the entries. But I'll introduce myself on the off chance I submitted it correctly. Then I suppose I'll go and press the Refresh button some more.

I'm a bass player and composer who isn't ready to quit his day job just yet. I love writing songs, but I haven't found the right collaborators to help me realize them. Overtracking in the studio is OK, but it just doesn't have the same creative energy. I need a band, preferably with another like-minded composer in it.

Being in the over-50 demographic, I have older influences like The Beatles and Procol Harum. I also love Bach, and the folk music that you hear in the Maritimes, and things that other people take for noise like Xenakis' electro-acoustical music. My songs tend to be in whatever genre suits my message, and my message is usually social or political.

When writing songs I try for the unexpected. When recording them, I like to work with polyphony and arrangements to achieve an interesting effect.

Recently I heard about songfight from a friend. I"ve been checking it out, and this place is great! I enjoy the diversity of styles and approaches, and I look forward to learning a lot from the many talented people here.

Are this week's songs up yet? . . .
JonPorobil
Beat It
Instruments: Piano, Guitar, Harmonica, Mandolin, Accordion, Bass, lots of VSTs
Recording Method: Cubase 10.5
Submitting as: Jon Eric, Jon Porobil, others
Pronouns: He/Him

Re: I should probably do this later

Post by JonPorobil »

Welcome!

Some things you might want to know: